Where do you see yourself at 80?

Aging is unstoppable; welcomed in the early stages of your life, contemplated, and attempted to be avoided later on, it is inevitable to occur; we have not found the fountain of youth yet. Duh…ok, enough of attempted wisdom here. It seems almost benign if that describes it appropriately enough. I am in no position to give life lessons or sit and tell a story starting with “Back in my day…” however have you just sat and thought…where will I be when I am 80? For me that is four times of my current life. It seems unreal in a way or hard to comprehend in others. I barely know what I am going to be doing two years from now or even tomorrow. I am not saying you need to know where you are going to be when you’re old, but it’s interesting to think about. Now don’t think I’m crazy and just like to think of these random things; the reason why I am reflecting on this moment is due to my fathers 80th birthday this past week.

80 years old, think about yourself for a second at that age…just for a second, you don’t want to freak yourself out too much. Imaginable? Not for me. Technology alone has changed so much in the past five years it baffles me, I cannot even start to envision 60 years from now, but he can.

I think sometimes it is good to try and learn from others experiences or points in their lives, or at least envision it. So many people ask you to look to the future; school counselors ask you where you see yourself after you graduate, financial planners ask where you want to be at XYZ age, I bring this up because I realized that you can’t plan. I guarantee you he did not plan on having a daughter at 60, but it just shows that you have an opportunity at any time in your life to start something new or even to start over. Societal norms are only norms; they don’t have to be the standard. Chances and opportunities are what you have your whole life. I think he just shows that is possible at any time, not just in your youth.

My father is 80 and I think that is respectable and commendable. Start things whenever you feel comfortable. And it is never too late (no intentional cheesy or cliché factor there). I am just thankful that I have been able to be a part of one fourth of his life. I hope he realizes how much of an impact it has made on me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ideas & Thoughts

Leave a Reply

