Tapas

Tapas [tah-pah]: a wide variety of appetizers, or snacks, in Spanish cuisine.

This is one cultural trait that I have had no problem in adapting into my lifestyle. First off, this is one of my favorite ways of eating. You get to eat smaller portions, are able to try a multitude of dishes, and get to share them amongst all your friends. Add a nice refreshing cerveza or tinto de verano to your tapas and you have a wonderful meal.

I have made it a point at each outing to try at least one new thing. This past experience was one on the adventurous side. Take a look below.

{Cazuela de Callos}

This may look a harmless, which in retrospect it is. I mean….it is just food. However, it is hard for me to stomach the thought of what I ate when I asked a Spaniard the next day what the real ingredients were in this tapa called Cazuela de Callo. Drum roll please……..its animal stomach and intestines. Yum.

The rest of the tapas that I have had were truly spectacular! I am starting to get cravings constantly. They varied from patatas bravas (potatoes with sauce), calamares a la andaluza (fried squid), pincho de tortilla (similar to quiche with onion and potato), sepia a la plancha (grilled cuttlefish), y más (more). I still have a lot more exploring to do in the culinary world, but so far I have no complaints, only smiles. Well, with exception to Cazuela de Callo; that was a one hit wonder.

{Cerveza}

{Calamares a la Andaluza}

{Patatas Bravas}

{Sepia a la Plancha}

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Spain

2 responses to “Tapas

  1. Pingback: Sharing Native Dishes | Seasoned With Youth

  2. Dtewfik

    Oooh Gimme some

Leave a Reply

