Morocco: A bit of the bad…

We all are aware that poverty exists throughout the world; however when it is put in front of your face, like it was for me this weekend, the definition and value of the word “poverty” is splattered with vivid colors inside the cavities of my mind. After accidentally wandering into some sketchy neighborhoods (the constant staring while walking through the streets made me feel most uncomfortable) and passing by hundreds of shacks and shanties along the train tracks, I started reviewing images in my head of children playing barefoot, buildings crumbling, and rubbish strewn all over the street. The two days that I was in Morocco gave me a brief view of the quality of living in cities such as Rabat and Casablanca. This does not qualify as an understanding or comprehension of their day to day experiences. However, it did refresh my appreciation for the life that I have now. Here are some of the things I saw. A lot of the neighborhoods and people I saw was not photographed. I feel my photography really couldn’t capture the essence of this dismay.

2 Comments

Filed under Morocco, Travel

2 responses to “Morocco: A bit of the bad…

  1. Oh this is going to be sad for me… I travelled through Central America and know what you mean. I am though very excited to travel through Morocco and see the bad & the good. Thanks for posting your links on my FB page. I have enjoyed reading them.

Leave a Reply

