Food for Thought

These last two weeks my thoughts had been wandering all around the life spectrum,  contemplating what I am doing with my life, am I going in the correct direction for myself, what do I want in life and in my day-to-day activities, does money play a role in that, does it have to? As you can imagine, no concrete answer has come from this ponderousness and I don’t think a concrete one ever will. A direction maybe, but an answer, no. You may even find these next thoughts as just a ramble of unfinished ideas. Which to be fair, it is very likely that it is just that. But to freely think about these broad topics affecting your life, I believe, is healthy though frustrating at times (most of the time I vote it as frustrating). Earlier I had reflected upon similar ideas here and here. However in the end, I am finding that my ending goal always becomes this:

Smile everyday. Touch someone’s heart. And feel like, WOW this is my life.

I have been having a bit of self reflection for multiple reasons, none of which directly effect my life. However, learning through other people’s experiences is part of human interaction. Give a little, take a little. The temperamentalness of life has been more real to me than ever. A couple recent encounters have given me this sentiment and made these thoughts surface . Let me share a very short bit of their stories so you can realize how. I am sure you can relate in one sense or another. These all involve young people, ones who should still have so much ahead of them in experiences, laughter, and adventure. I will be short. You will get the idea.

Earlier last month a tragic accident happened to a study abroad student from San Diego who lost his life after being missing for a little over a week (I talked about it earlier here). A friend of mine just found out he has cancer in his young 20s. And I even had a slight run in with my health a year ago causing reconsideration of the tempramentalness of youth and life itself.

These events just make me think. Are you enjoying your life? Are you enjoying each day? I was presented with a refreshing new perspective within a new acquaintance in my life.  His vibe was so positive. He has love of everything he does, trusts that things will fall into place, and believes in karma, goodness and happiness. Money plays a part but it is not important. It is the love of your actions and the people around you. Do you encompass this idea? Can you see yourself doing so if you’re not? What would your life consist of if you did just that? Food for thought. I don’t quite know my answer either; however this quote always helps me refocus:

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” –Confucius

 

 

I realize this post is a bit off topic from the general theme of my blog; however I felt like it was necessary to write my running thoughts of the day. I hope you can share your thoughts on this so I know I am not crazy. 🙂

 

bloglovin

6 Comments

Filed under Ideas & Thoughts

6 responses to “Food for Thought

  1. The tattoo is beautiful. I am still working myself up to get a tattoo, maybe next time I will not chicken out!

    XO Hilary Nicole
    http://thehippinista.blogspot.com/

    • Thanks! Depending on your pain tolerance, tattoos aren’t as bad as they seem. Unless you get your ribcage or something like that, it might be a bit tough. It is totally worth it! My next piece will be down my back. I am still working up the courage for that one. So no worries about chickening out. We all do 🙂

  2. I am going back to school after a year of traveling and working. I know what it feels like to be a little lost and listless.

    There is a great alice and wonderland quote that i find very relevant to those of us who are struggling with which path to take. You might find it encouraging as well…….

    Alice: Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?
    The Cat: That depends a good deal on where you want to get to
    Alice: I don’t much care where.
    The Cat: Then it doesn’t much matter which way you go.
    Alice: …so long as I get somewhere.
    The Cat: Oh, you’re sure to do that, if only you walk long enough.

    -margaret
    http://margarethouser.blogspot.com/

    • I love this! I completely forgot about that scene in the movie. I have been finding that sometimes wandering around aimlessly in life can lead you to some of the greatest places. At least thats what I have been doing in the last couple months. Thank you so much for sharing this quote. I am going to have to rewatch Alice and Wonderland again. Besitos.

  3. Thanks for this thoughtful post. A friend of mine died a few years ago after being fighting a battle with cancer since high school. And my dad is currently going through his own battle. It’s often when things like these occur that we realize just how fleeting life is; it makes you step back to examine your own life.

    -Samantha

    http://thisfashionista.blogspot.com

  4. I know exactly where you are and how you’re feeling. Because lately I’ve been going through the same cycle of thoughts! The earthquake in Japan is what really kind of got to me though… the fact that everything can be lost in a few seconds. I just really didn’t want to be alone and living life the way I had been living it. Still a lot of thoughts going on in my head but I’m sure we’ll figure it out with a little time… and wine? hehe had to bring in something lighthearted 🙂

Leave a Reply

