Lennon Wall

Wander down a back street by Grand Priory Square in Prague, pass by a bridge full of locks, and you’ll find yourself in front of the Lennon Wall (for more simple instructions you can use GPS on a phone like I did). The Lennon Wall, a cement wall covered with Lennon-inpired graffiti and Beatles quotes, is layered with paint symbolizing youth ideals of love and hope. Individuals have been painting this wall since the 1980s when Czechs used to write about injustices that later caused a clash between the outspoken youth and security police. The wall is constantly changing, but the message still remains the same. If you have a bit of spare time when in Prague, check out this collaborative artwork.

5 Comments

Filed under Czech Republic, Eurotrip

5 responses to “Lennon Wall

  1. Wow, what an amazing wall! I think it’s beautiful that no-one has deliberately trashed it or drawn a giant dick on it or something (at least, I can’t see one on any of your photographs).

  2. I so wish I had been able to go to Prague about 15 years ago, before it was over-run with British guys there on their bucks parties! The beauty of the city was somewhat marred by the rowdiness of the dense tourist crowd. I know… this means I should get off the tourist track, but with only three days there there wasn’t enough time!

    • If you find a time machine, let me know. I am sure Prague had such a great vibe back then. I sometimes get caught up in the touristy stuff as well. One trick that has gotten me out of that habit is meeting locals for coffee. I usually set it up through couchsurfing.com. It is a great way to get a new perspective on the city and get some great recommendations of restaurants and sites.

  3. I’ve been there and it left SUCH a lasting impression on me. I think it’s beautiful. One of my favorite places on earth.

Leave a Reply

