Post-graduate plans

The last couple weeks I have been trying to put my life together. You know, that post-grad, “holy shit I have graduated and am moving from the comfort of going to school to actually having to figure out how all those years of learnings apply to some sort of job/career out there in the universe” feeling. Virtual high fives to all those who have figured it out right away. I have no idea how some of my classmates are all calm and collective about what they are doing. But hey, you did it. Props to you. You made that leap out of the plane and are free falling into real life.  Thrilling.

But, hell I am petrified. After the past two years living in Spain, I have no clue on how to function properly back here in the U.S. of A, let alone as a full blown adult working full time and paying off those so-painful-I-cringe student loans. Can you cue “blah” mode? I’m pretty sure this is what they call reverse culture shock (or I am sure hoping thats what it is). I think I am going to rename it, “I just wanna go back” shock. To be honest, I am at a loss on how to “cure” this. All I know is that it really gives you an insecure feeling that makes you want to instantly run back to the good ol’ life. No wonder so many HR departments are now developing programs that help reintegrate their employees back into their own culture after spending an extended period of time abroad.

I am writing this as a way to get these emotions off my chest and to let others know that this disruptive transition does happen to more people than you think. Now is the time to take the next chapter in stride; wherever that may lead. Congratulations graduates! Time to put together all those developed skills and experiences you can call pieces of the puzzle in your life. Good luck.

3 Comments

Filed under Ideas & Thoughts

3 responses to “Post-graduate plans

  1. Querida Samantha: No creas que el desconcierto se debe a haber pasado estos 2 años fuera. Esa sensación de desconcierto es algo inherente al inicio de esta nueva etapa de tu vida. Tu eres muy valiente y seguro que tomarás la decisones correctas. Muchos ánimos.

  2. sarah rosenthal

    Dude I have this routine down pat. You do too, its just stressful to consistently think long term. Lets chat soon 🙂

  3. This link may help those who need to take the first steps of figuring out what career to follow. http://www.insidejobs.com/jobs

Leave a Reply

